Going Natural with Trader Joe's

Lime Grilled Chicken & Raita

Posted on: March 17, 2010

Ok, so the Lime Grilled Chicken recipe was an absolute disaster.  Why?  I believe there are two reasons but I’ll get to that in a minute.  First of all, I was excited to eat some tangy chicken.  The marinade only calls for lime juice, saffron, and onion.  So I juiced by own limes to avoid preservatives, sliced the onion, and added a pinch of saffron which was half of the teeny-tiny bottle.  Then I thought to myself, this marinade doesn’t sound very tasty.  Problem number one – no salt.  So I added a little salt and pepper and plowed on.  Problem number two – which is all my fault.  The directions say to marinate for 1-3 hours.  Not listening, I marinated it over night.  When I opened the bag in the morning, the chicken had a nasty/funky smell.  Not a spoiled smell just kinda weird.  (I think it was the saffron.  I don’t think I like the taste of it.)  So then, I proceeded to grill it and it was so smelly and unappetizing that I didn’t even want to try it.  My nose was correct and it was gross.  I hate to use such a strong word but it truly was.  It is half my fault but I think it was a little too simple to have good flavor.  Just my opinion.  The recipe was paired rice and Raita which is basically a raisin, cucumber, mint, yogurt dip.  Absolutely delicioso.  (Even though I forgot to add the mint.  I’m going to add it next time.)  I ate it with some pita chips and it was very filling since it was pretty much the only thing I ate that night.  Tonight we are supposed to be eating the Chutney filled chicken.  I’m hoping for a better result.   

Note:  I used the Trader Joe’s Organic Chicken Broth instead of water to make my rice and it came out full of flavor.  Try it sometime.

9     Appealing Appetizers
17   Soups & Salads
48   Main Meals
13   Simple Sides
24  Delicious Desserts & Daring Drinks
9     Breakfast Beginnings
120  Total Left

Leave a comment


  • None
  • Mr WordPress: Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts' comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Categories

Archives